tastyDeLites

Gardein Seven Grain Crispy Tenders

Posted on: November 18, 2011

Gardein Seven Grain Crispy Tenders

These are meat-free “chicken” tenders made from soy and wheat.

Taste:  These tasted like something familiar but I could not put my finger on it.  They tasted ok but definitely not like chicken.  You just have to think about it like you’re eating something new, not like you’re eating something you expect to taste like chicken.  They were better with honey mustard which I procured from McDonald’s.

Texture:  First of all they were supposed to bake for 20 minutes (turn halfway through), and I found them sticking to the baking sheet.  So the breading was coming off and at the end of cooking there was a lot of breading crusted to the pan.  The inside did not really look like chicken, and it was a bit rubbery.  I would probably not buy these again although I just found out they make a chipotle lime flavor.  I just tried them because I had a coupon, but I think they are normally pretty expensive, and at the end of the day I really like chicken.

Overall Rating: 5/10

Leave a comment