tastyDeLites

Thai Chicken Lettuce Cups

Posted on: August 18, 2010

Recipe: Thai Chicken Lettuce Cups

If you know anything about me, you know that it’s VERY rare for me to eat a meal with absolutely no carbs.  I also feel that lettuce is a waste of time- it gives me no enjoyment to eat it.  However, I decided to try this lettuce cup recipe as something different.  It wasn’t as good as the lettuce cups I had recently at a restaurant, but it was pretty good nonetheless.

Ingredients: Lettuce, chicken, garlic powder, peanut sauce, cucumber, scallions, carrots, rice vinegar, cilantro, crushed red pepper

Taste: Not bad.  I could adjust the spiciness by the amount of red pepper added.  The peanut sauce (which I bought as a gamble, didn’t see any other options at the store) worked out pretty well.  So did the rice vinegar, which I was unsure of at first.

Texture: These were more like lettuce bowls, or tacos.  I picked the lettuce mentioned in the recipe (romaine) but the leaves were so big!  Also, I would reduce the amount of rice vinegar next time because it was running all over the place.  These weren’t the easiest or cleanest things to eat.  I also don’t enjoy the texture of cucumber too much, so next time I would use less, and even experiment with other things like adding peanuts.

Overall Rating: 8/10


This recipe is from my Hungry Girl cookbook.

Leave a comment