tastyDeLites

Lemon Orzo Salad

Posted on: May 18, 2010

Recipe: Lemon Orzo Salad

This is a recipe I learned to make during a cooking class I took with my first J&J team!  It is really good and I’ve made it a few times for different occasions.

Ingredients: Orzo, lemon juice, lemon zest, vegetable & olive oils, parsley, red pepper flakes, roasted red pepper, scallions, feta cheese, toasted pine nuts

Taste: I really love the taste of this salad.  Normally feta cheese is too strong for my taste, but combined with the lemon and roasted red peppers, it really balances out.  The recipe calls for scallions and chives but I almost always seem to find one or the other at the store.  This time I left out the chives and it was fine.  This tastes good “warm” (when the orzo first cooks and the pine nuts are warm, and the cheese gets a bit melty) or cold, straight out of the fridge.

Texture: The orzo is soft and slimy, the scallions and pine nuts give it a little crunch.  There are a lot of textures going on with the peppers and cheese too.  It’s like a playground for the palate.

Overall Rating: 9/10

1 Response to "Lemon Orzo Salad"

Great salad! It is very Mediterranean. The lemon tastes so fresh and plays well with the salty feta cheese. Also I love pine nuts. I love saying the word pignoli. Say it. Pignoli. DELICIOSO!

Leave a comment